fbpx

Marriage Licenses

Pre-Engagement & Pre-Marital Counseling

Overview

Impact Family is registered with Broward County as a Pre-Marital Course Provider. Our registration allows couples to bypass the three-day waiting period and receive a discount on their license fees. Let us assist you, schedule your first session today. Learn more about the Broward County Policies and Privileges.

Both parties, age 18 and over, must be present during the application process for a marriage license. 

The state of Florida allows couples to get married anywhere in Florida, regardless of the country that the license is issued. If you are getting married outside of Florida, you must obtain a marriage license from the state where you opt to be married. 

Florida residents have the option to attend a premarital course from a registered provider or wait a three-day mandatory time before the marriage license becomes valid. Non-Florida residents are exempt from any marriage license waiting period. Learn more about our Pre-Engagement and Pre-Marital Counseling here

Marriage License Identification requirements: 

Both parties are required to submit a valid federal or state government photo identification card with the correct legal name, date of birth, and signature. 

The following photo identification cards accepted are: 

  • Driver’s License (U.S. State or Government) 
  • Passport
  • U.S. Military identification 
  • State Identification Card (U.S. State or Government) 
  • Alien Registration Card

Any person who has been issued a Social Security number shall provide their social security number during the marriage license application, in accordance with the State of Florida Statute. Please note that the social security card copies are not needed, only the number itself. 

Any person who is a non-U.S. citizen may provide either a Social Security number or an Alien Registration number if one has been provided. If neither has been provided, another form of ID may be required. 

Additional information: 

  • A marriage license application does not require blood testing. 
  • A non-Florida resident may obtain a marriage license, even if you are not a resident of this county. 
  • Marriage licenses are valid for sixty (60) days from the date of issue in the state of Florida.
  • Prior to obtaining a marriage license, The Family Law Handbook in English or Spanish should be read. This book is also available for viewing in the Clerk of Courts Marriage and One-Stop Divisions. 
  • If either of the applicants has been previously married, the exact date of the last divorce, death, or annulment must be provided. 

Please fill out our online application form to speed up the application process.

Applicants seeking marriage licenses, who are at least 17 years of age, must present the following documents: 

The consent of both parents or a legal guardian is required for any applicant under eighteen (18) and at least seventeen (17) years of age. Original proof must be provided if custody of the minor has been granted to one parent and a certified copy of the death certificate is necessary if one of the parents is deceased. It is necessary to provide proof of age and the identity of the parents. A certified copy of the person's birth certificate might be used for this. Additional verification may be requested if the parents' names do not match.

Furthermore, a person who is at least 17 years old may marry only if the other party is no more than two years his or her senior.

For applicants under the age of 17: We are unable to issue a license to anyone under the age of 17 due to Florida Statute 741.04.

Marriage License Application

Couples who want to marry in Florida can do so either online or in person.

Both parties must submit their applications at the same time (whether in-person at one of our locations or applying online through a video conference).

For pre-marital courses and counseling, you can book an appointment via our form. The session can be done with Jack or Jhael Hakimian or the whole Hakimian team. 

  • Pre-Marital Counseling via our office locations 
    • Our office is located at 10031 Pines Boulevard, Suite 226, 232, & 234
    • Pembroke Pines FL 33024 from Mondays to Saturdays at 8 AM to 9 PM. Please visit our FAQs Page for more information on the process. 
  • Pre-Marital Counseling via appointment 
    • If time does not permit, you can always schedule an appointment with us virtually. We can talk over the phone or via webcam. To do so, book an appointment here
  • Pre-Martial Counseling via form 

You can also fill out this form online for inquiries, appointments, and questions.

Marriage Ceremony

Based on Florida law, the following officials are authorized to perform marriage ceremonies:

  • Clergy who have been ordained
  • Elders in a church's communion
  • Judges from the state of Florida
  • Florida Clerks of the Court and their deputized staff
  • Notaries Public of the state of Florida 

A marriage license is valid for 60 days in any Florida county after it is issued. Following the marriage ceremony, the officiant must sign the original marriage license and deliver it back to the Central Courthouse Marriage Division within 10 days. It will be recorded, and a certified copy will be forwarded to the application's address.

Fees and Costs

Please refer to the Marriage License Fees section for detailed information.

The standard marriage license fee is $86.00 and includes a 3-day waiting period before a marriage ceremony can be performed.

The only exceptions to the 3-day waiting period are:

  • If both applicants reside out-of-state and are able to present valid proof of photo identification indicating their out-of-state address at the time of filing the marriage license application. (Please call our office for other acceptable proof.)
  • If the applicants present an original premarital course completion certificate at the time of filing the marriage license application.

NOTE: If the couple elects the option to attend a premarital course from a registered provider, the marriage license fee is lowered to $61.00 and the waiting period is waived upon providing an original certificate of completion at the time of filing the application.

Prior to obtaining a marriage license, both parties must sign an affidavit indicating they have read the Family Law Handbook (in English or Spanish).

NOTE: Adobe Acrobat Reader Software is required to view the Family Law Handbook.

Click here to download a free copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader software. This is a one-time process. Installation and browser configuration instructions are provided by Adobe Acrobat.

A Civil Marriage ceremony can be performed in the Marriage Division after the license is effective for an additional cost of thirty ($30.00) dollars. No witnesses are required for a Civil Marriage ceremony, however, they are recommended. Learn more from Broward County Marriage License Division.

Pre-Marital Counseling fees are $65 per session and usually, there are 5 sessions unless more intense issues need to be covered.

Following the issuance of the license, a marriage ceremony can be held with the assistance of Impact Vision. Check out our wedding packages, which start at $400.

  • Plan 1 - $400
    • Simple wedding ceremony 
    • Two to three hours couple rehearsal 
    • With additional $200 for overtime deposit 
    • Maximum of 4 hours 
  • Plan 2 - $8,000 
    • Wedding ceremony 
    • Wedding rehearsal 
    • An extra day of wedding rehearsal
    • With additional $200 for overtime deposit 
    • Maximum of 8 hours
  • Plan 3 - $1,000 
    • Wedding ceremony 
    • Wedding rehearsal 
    • Prayer at reception 
    • With additional $200 for overtime deposit 
    • Maximum of 10 hours

There is a $200 overtime deposit that must be refunded to Zelle within one day of the wedding. If the couple's service time exceeds the maximum, they will be charged 60 cents per minute from their deposit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where do I apply for a marriage license?

You can get a marriage license from the Clerk of Courts Office. Both applicants must submit their applications in person at the same time.